Monday, September 28, 2015

Recent Reads:: v.2


Since my reading list includes about 30 books right now and I clearly do not have time to read all of them, I decided to take advantage of audio books during my two hour commute every day. I have made a pretty good dent in my list so far and wanted to share my thoughts on a few books.

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
  • I'll start by saying that I didn't love this book. It was cheesy - even more so than I was expecting it to be. With that being said, I did enjoy hearing how the the relationship between Ridge and Sydney evolved. The characters were very likable and the fact that Ridge was a deaf musician also really intrigued me. Overall though, I probably wouldn't recommend this book.
The Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll
  • This book was advertised for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train so, naturally, I was intrigued. Let me tell you, though, that was not the case. I was not a fan of this book at all. The main character was very pretentious and unrelateable. I can't think of one point in this book where I was truly interested in what happened next. I almost gave up and didn't finish, but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. End result...I do not recommend this book. 
  • I did recently see that this book is being made into a movie produced by Reese Witherspoon. I hope the movie is better than the book was!
One Plus One by JoJo Moyes
  • Since I had previously read Me Before You by JoJo Moyes, I had a good feeling that I would enjoy listening to this book and I was right. It was the right amount of funny and sad, and kept you rooting for each of the characters success in finding happiness. I would recommend this book.
  • This book is also being made into a movie in 2016. I look forward to watching it!
The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson
  • If you can get past the first part of this book, then it will have you hooked! There were so many twists that I would have never predicted (trust me, I tried) and I kept wanting to know more. It was interesting to see how a simple conversation quickly led to multiple murders. There were numerous times when I actually found myself rooting for the murderer to get away with it! I would recommend this book. 

Sincerely,

Emily Ann

2 comments:

  1. I love this image! I want to read some of those JoJo books.

    ReplyDelete

BLOGGER TEMPLATE BY DESIGNER BLOGS